This is Thriller


Morning Guys,

Cheers to the weekend!

As promised another weekly blog post. 🙂

I talk to so many of you about books via Instagram. Therefore you may be rather surprised to hear that I only actually began reading a year ago. My OH has always been a book worm & whips out his kindle the first chance he gets.

I just didn’t get it. It was boring! I had read so many textbooks at Uni that once I’d graduated I didn’t want to look at published text ever again! Then there was ‘that’ book I was bought as a birthday present a few years back. I got up to page 10 before I chucked it into the bedside table drawer, never to see daylight again.

Turns out it was actually just the genre of book that put me off. Despite adoring Period Dramas, Romantic tales of the 1900’s just  weren’t going to do it for me.

Today, however is a very different story. I’m a very active member of our work ‘book club’ if you can all it that. The first to Google whether there are plans to make a book into a film, the first to strike up a conversation with a stranger on why they should try this book.

Today I am sharing my Top 5 ‘Thriller’ Reads.

Gripping books with twists & turns, the kind that become addictive. The kind that make the hair on your arms stand up.

First up, is ‘Behind Closed Doors’ by B.A Paris.


A gripping psychological thriller featuring Newlyweds Grace & Jack Angel. The perfect couple? Nothing is ever as it seems. Will you side with the murderer for once?

Next is ‘Behind her Eyes’ by Sarah Pinborough.


An electrifying domestic page – turner with a twist you’ll never get. The ending makes you want to read the whole book again from start to finish.

Another favourite read was ‘I let you go’ by Clare Mackintosh.


A heart-breaking start to a roller coaster of a book. It hit so many emotions really pulling on my heart strings . Perfect for fans of TV Dramas like ‘The missing’. I love this Author!

Next up is ‘The Girl Before’ by JP Delaney’.


An enthralling thriller described as a match for ‘The girl on the train’. One for the interior lover. Just what goes on behind the Door of 1 Folgate St?

And last but definitely not least ‘I see you’ by Clare Mackintosh.


Ridiculously twisty. Your train commute will never be the same again……

********************************************

I’m sure you don’t need me to tell you the benefits of  regular reading however I wanted to  outline just a few.

Stress. No matter how much you have going on at work or in your personal life, a good read allows you to loose yourself, and therefore switch off. Relax. Transport yourself to another realm and let your worries drift away.

Tranquillity. Reading brings me inner peace and mindfulness. In a train jam packed with commuters, I find my own quiet place.

Mental Stimulation. Just like any other muscle the brain requires exercise to keep it strong & healthy. The more you read, the more words you gain exposure to, and your vocabulary will broaden. This in turn could impact your confidence & sense of self worth.

Have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think? Do you have any ‘must read’ recommendations?

Until next time,

Love Lucy X

 

 

Share:

Leave a comment

  1. June 17, 2018 / 8:19 am

    Ooh, some great suggestions here. Have you read ‘Silent Victim’ by Caroline Mitchell? I enjoyed that.

Leave a Reply